Citadel Securities Paid $943m for Retail US Order Flow in Nine Months
Citadel Securities paid US$943 million over nine months for retail US equity and options order flow, an average run rate near US$105 million per month, Global Trading reports.

Execution notes
- Citadel Securities paid US$943 million for retail US equity and options order flow over nine months, per Global Trading.
- The total implies an average run rate of roughly US$105 million per month, or about US$3.5 million per trading day.
- The report does not break the figure down between equity payment for order flow and options rebates, and does not cover profitability or prior-period comparison.
Citadel Securities paid US$943 million for retail US equity and options order flow over a nine-month period, according to Global Trading. The figure is the most concrete measure yet of the scale of the market maker's payments to brokers for the right to execute retail customer orders in the two asset classes.
The US$943 million outlay covers both listed equity flow and listed options flow from retail investors. Global Trading did not break the total down by asset class, so the split between equity payment for order flow and options rebates remains undisclosed. Nine months is the stated measurement window; the report does not specify which nine-month period the figure covers.
What the number measures
The figure quantifies what wholesale market makers pay brokerage firms to internalize retail order flow rather than route it to an exchange. For buy-side and sell-side desks, the relevant point is scale: US$943 million in payments over nine months implies an average run-rate of roughly US$105 million per month, or about US$3.5 million per trading day assuming approximately 21 trading days per month. That run rate represents the aggregate cost of acquiring order flow, which the market maker recovers through execution spreads and hedging activity rather than through explicit commissions.
Two categories sit inside the total. Equity payment for order flow — cash payments or rebates from a wholesaler to a retail broker in exchange for directing customer orders — makes up one component. Options order flow payments, typically structured as rebate arrangements on the exchanges, make up the other. Because the source does not separate them, desks cannot infer the relative weight of the equity internalization business versus the options market-making business from this figure alone.
Why the figure matters for execution workflow
The payment total is a data point in an ongoing structural debate over retail order handling in US markets. For institutional traders, the significance is indirect but material. Retail flow internalized by wholesale market makers generally does not appear on the public exchange tape, which affects the depth and signal content of displayed liquidity. A payment of this magnitude indicates continued strong broker demand to monetize retail flow through internalization rather than route it to lit venues.
For retail-facing brokers, the number quantifies a revenue line that regulators, exchanges and competitors scrutinize. For technology and routing desks, it signals where order flow concentrates: a wholesaler committing nearly US$1 billion over nine months to acquire flow is investing in the infrastructure — pricing models, hedging systems and risk controls — needed to execute that flow profitably at scale.
What is measured versus what is asserted
The US$943 million figure is measured, reported by Global Trading. What the figure does not establish is profitability. A large payment for order flow is a cost of doing business for the market maker, not a statement of net revenue or margin on that flow. The report does not disclose execution revenue, spread capture, or hedge returns associated with the internalized orders, so any inference about the economics of the retail internalization business beyond the acquisition cost would be speculation.
Similarly, the figure does not, by itself, indicate whether payment levels are rising or falling. Without a comparable prior-period number, the nine-month total stands as a level, not a trend. Analysts tracking the payment-for-order-flow market will need sequential disclosures to establish direction.
Regulatory context
Payment for order flow remains a live policy issue in the US market structure debate. The Securities and Exchange Commission has examined the practice as part of its broader review of equity market structure, and any future rulemaking that restricts or mandates disclosure of payments would directly affect the economics reflected in this US$943 million figure. The Global Trading report does not link the payment figure to any pending proposal, and no rule change is part of this data point.
Forward view
Watch for whether Citadel Securities' subsequent disclosures show the payment run-rate holding near US$105 million per month, and whether any breakdown between equity and options payments emerges — a split that would let desks assess where the internalization economics are concentrated as the regulatory review of order handling continues.
via Google News: Dark pools & PFOF (Source)
More from James Calloway
Show full bio
Correspondent covering media and advertising at Order Flow Brief.
50 articles